LEDAP coordinator, Lagos AG, 29 others conferred with SAN rank

Fri Jul 13th, 2018 - Abuja (FCT)

By Ikechukwu Nnochiri

ABUJA— Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, LPPC, yesterday, elevated 31 senior lawyers to the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria, SANs.

Among those listed were National Coordinator, Legal Defence Assistance Project, LEDAP, Mr Chinonye Obiagwu; Vice Chancellor, Lagos State University, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun, and Attorneys-General of Lagos and Ondo states, Mosediq Kazeem and Adekola Olawole.

The legal body took the decision at the end of its 133rd plenary session in Abuja.

The SAN rank is awarded as a mark of excellence to members of the legal profession that distinguished themselves as advocates and academics.

Privileges that accrue to holders of the rank, who are regarded as members of the inner bar, include sitting at the front row in courts and having their cases called up first.

Secretary of the LLPC, Mrs. Hadizatu Mustapha, who briefed newsmen shortly after the body concluded its plenary session at the Supreme Court, disclosed that the 31 new SANS were selected from a total of 106 lawyers that applied for the rank.

She revealed that whereas 83 of the applications came from lawyers under the advocate category, 23 of them were from the academic category, adding that though two women applied, only one of them qualified.

Among the successful applicants are Director-General of Nigeria Law School, Prof. Isa Chiroma; Adekola Olawole, Oba Maduabuchi, Essien Udom, Prof. Oluyemisi Bamgbose, Metong Urombo, Prof Wahab Egbewole, George Igbokwe, Emmanuel Achukwu, Kenneth Ahia, Louis Alozie, Adeyinka Olumide-Fasuki, Johnson Ojoro, Wole Agunbiade, Olayode Delano.

Others on the list are Tanimu Inuwa, Sonny Wogu, Prof. Offorinze Amucheazi, Adewale Atake, Ikhide Ehighelua, Prof. Muhammed Akanbi, Cosmas Enweluzo, Ishaka Mudi and Olabode Olanipekun.

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Walter Onnoghen, will swear in the new SANs during the 2018/2019 New Legal Year of the Supreme Court scheduled for September 24.




source: Vanguard