Supreme Court upholds election victory of eight governors

Thu Dec 19th, 2019 - Akwa Ibom

Eight state governors heaved a sigh of relief yesterday as the Supreme Court upheld their victory at the polls.

They are: Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu; Oyo State, Seyi Makinde; Akwa Ibom, Emmanuel Udom; Kaduna, Nasir El-Rufai; Katsina, Bello Masari; Ogun, Dapo Abiodun; Nasarawa, Abdullahi Sule; and Ebonyi, David Umahi.

While affirming Makinde’s election, the apex court set aside the decision of the Appeal Court, which ordered a supplementary election in some of the contested wards in the state.

The appeal court had ruled against the decision of the Governorship Election Petition Tribunal, Oyo, State, which dismissed the petition filed by the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its candidate, Adebayo Adelabu.




source: Guardian