811 PDP Delegates In Moment Of Decision: How 14 Aspirants Stand

Fri May 27th, 2022 - Abia

The presidential candidate of Nigeria’s main opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), will be unveiled on May 29.

But how do the 14 aspirants stand heading into the primaries which is already dubbed the party’s most intense in recent times?

However no less than 811 delegates will determine the fate of the aspirants at the primaries which will be held tomorrow in Abuja.

A breakdown of the figures by regions reveal that the North West zone has 193 delegates; South West zone has 193 delegates; North Central zone has 130 delegates; South South zone has 129 delegates; North East 116 delegates; South East has 100 delegates.

Although 17 aspirants bought the party’s N41 million expression of interest and nomination forms, after they appeared before the party’s presidential screening committee led by Senator David Mark, two were disqualified.

15 of them were cleared while two were disqualified from the race.

Those who were cleared They include former Vice President Atiku Abubakar; Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike; former Senate President Bukola Saraki; Sokoto State governor; Aminu Tambuwal and former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Anyim Pius Anyim.

Others are Bauchi State governor, Bala Mohammed, Akwa Ibom governor, Emmanuel Udom, former Ekiti State governor, Ayodele Fayose and publisher of Ovation Magazine, Dele Momodu, former president, Manufacturing Association of Nigeria (MAN), Sam Ohuabunwa; investment banker, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen; lawyer and entrepreneur, Charles Ugwu; former Abia State House of Assembly Speaker, Chikwendu Kalu and Tareila Diana, the only female aspirant.




source: Leadership