Abaka, Ukpeseraye Win National Cycling Road Championship

Mon May 22nd, 2023 -

Bayelsa State’s Krotimi Abaka and Ese Ukpeseraye, yesterday in Port Harcourt, won the elite men and women’s categories respectively of the National Cycling Road Championship sponsored by the Rivers State government.

The new champions finished with a time of three hours, 48 minutes, 26.02 seconds and two hours, 34 minutes, 24.2 seconds respectively to earn the top prize of N600, 000 each.

In second positions were Bethel Okeyah of Rivers State and Mary Samuel of Delta State, who got N400, 000 each.

The Elite Men and Women bronze medals went to Adeniran Okpeyemi from Lagos and Happiness Ernest from Rivers State respectively.

Precious Effiong of Rivers won the men’s junior title, while Cleopas Funkebi of Bayelsa and Bazeet Odebiyi of Delta won the silver and bronze medals respectively.

The Women’s Junior gold medal went to Patience Ottuadong of Rivers State, while the silver and bronze medals went to Divine Ogbe of Edo State and Aishat Arogundade of Delta State respectively.

Speaking at the end of the event, Federation of Nigeria President, Giadomenico Massari, commended the Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, for sponsoring the championship and his support for the federation.

“This championship, through the support of the Rivers State government, has established a high bar and a new record in cycling events in Africa and it is our desire to sustain the momentum for posterity, “ Massari said.




source: Guardian