Akwa Ibom proscribes 51 cult groups in primary, secondary schools

Tue Mar 17th, 2020 - Akwa Ibom

Akwa Ibom government has proscribed 51 cult groups and societies in primary and secondary schools across the state. The decision might not be unconnected with the recent violence in institutions of learning in parts of the capital.

The latest proscription is addition to the 14 outlawed in 2018. Ewet Technical College, Uyo metropolis had in recent times witnessed high-scale cult activities, leading to wanton destruction of school property and eventual closure of the institution by the state government.

The proscription order, titled ‘Cultism and Other Violent Behaviour (Prohibition) Order’ and signed yesterday ijn the capital city by Governor Udom Emmanuel, replaced ‘The Cultism and Other Violent Behaviour [Prohibition) Order of 2018’ and came into effect on the March 16, 2020.




source: Guardian